• On Wednesday, March 25, State Superintendent of Education Dr. Karen Salmon announced that all Maryland public schools will remain closed through Friday, April 24.
    Picking up meals, digital devices and instructional materials for distance learning is permitted under Gov. Hogan's stay-at-home order (Sect IIb(iv)).

    El miércoles, 25 de marzo, la superintendente de educación del estado, la Dra. Karen Salmon, anunció que todas las escuelas públicas en el estado de Maryland estarán cerradas hasta el viernes, 24 de abril.
    Recoger las comidas, los dispositivos digitales y los materiales de instrucción a distancia están permitidos bajo la orden de quedarse en casa que decretó el gobernador Hogan (Sect IIb(iv)).
Communications / Awards and Recognition / The Christa McAuliffe Award
  • The Christa McAuliffe Award

    The Christa McAuliffe Award

    In honor of Christa McAuliffe, a former Prince George's County Public Schools teacher, the Board of Education established the Christa McAuliffe Award to recognize excellence in teaching. This award, available to Prince George's County Public Schools teachers only, honors an outstanding teacher based on competitive standards of excellence established by other teachers.

    The award is also a special tribute to Christa McAuliffe, America's Teacher-In-Space, who died in the 1986 explosion of the Space Shuttle Challenger. Mrs. McAuliffe taught in Prince George's County from 1971 to 1978.

    Candidates must be certified full-time teachers in grades kindergarten through twelve in PGCPS and have spent at least the past five years teaching full-time in Prince George's County Public Schools.

    Complete the 2020 online application>>

    2019 Christa McAuliffe Award Nominees:

    Jennifer Findlater – Benjamin Tasker Middle

    Shanita Graves – CMIT Academy – South Middle High PC

    Benora McCain-Wigfall – CMIT Academy – North Elementary PC

    Manuela Pagunsan – Greenbelt Middle  (WINNER)

    Romelita Panga – Dodge Park Elementary

    Stephanny Powell-Williams – Melwood Elementary

    Gillian Richards – Accokeek Academy

    Carolyn Sauer – Kenilworth Elementary