• Board of Education

    Board of Education

    The Board of Education is a group of nine elected, four appointed and one student board members. Learn more about the members and the Board of Education here.
  • Dr. Thornton's Letter to Colleagues

    Board-collageDecember 12, 2019

    Dear Board of Education Colleagues:

    One year ago, in December of 2018, we came together as a Board of Education, consisting of 14 elected and appointed members. I was honored to be asked to serve as chair of the Board and joined in welcoming Mr. Edward Burroughs, III as Vice Chair. The community and its elected and appointed representatives looked to the new Board of Education with great anticipation in the wake of the recent complex governance and oversight, leadership, employee, and student development issues that had faced our school system. We were tasked with providing enhanced Board leadership and oversight for one of the nation's largest and diverse urban school systems, with an enrollment of more than 136,500 students, 19,000 employees, and 208 schools with an operating budget of $2.047 billion. At the end of our first year together as a Board of Education, there are many accomplishments about which we should be proud. Read complete letter

     

    Contact Information

    Quicklinks

  • News Releases

  • Featured

  • Board of Education Members

  • plain blue banner
    Dr. Thornton

    Dr. Alvin Thornton

    Chair
    alvin.thornton@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Edward Burroughs

    Edward Burroughs III

    Vice Chair, District 8
    edward3.burroughs@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    David Murray

    David Murray

    District 1
    david.murray@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Thomas

    Joshua M. Thomas

    District 2
    joshua.thomas@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Boozer-Strother

    Pamela Boozer-Strother

    District 3
    pamela.boozerstrother@pgcps.org
    301 952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Swann

    Bryan Swann

    District 4
    bryan.swann@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Raaheela Ahmed

    Raaheela Ahmed

    District 5
    raaheela.ahmed@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Queen

    Belinda Queen

    District 6
    belinda.queen@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    K. Alexander Wallace

    K. Alexander Wallace

    District 7
    kalexander.wallace@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Ms. Williams

    Sonya Williams

    District 9
    sonya3.williams@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Monteiro

    Paul Monteiro

    Appointed
    paul.monteiro@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Sandra D. Shephard

    Sandra D. Shephard

    Appointed
    sandra.shephard@pgcps.org
    301 952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    plain blue banner
    Curtis Valentine

    Curtis Valentine, M.P.P.

    Appointed
    curtis.valentine@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates


    banner-plain-blue
    Omolola Photo

    Joshua Omolola

    Student Member of the Board
    Joshua.Omolola@pgcps.org
    301-952-6115
    Subscribe to updates