News Release: Walker Mill MS Teacher Named Prince George's County Teacher of the Year

News Release: Walker Mill MS Teacher Named Prince George's County Teacher of the Year

May 3, 2013
For Immediate Release
Office of Communications

UPPER MARLBORO, MD -- Albert Lewis, language arts teacher at Walker Mill Middle School, has been named the 2013 Prince George’s County Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made Thursday at the school system’s annual Teacher of the Year Celebration at Martin’s Crosswinds in Greenbelt.

Lewis began his career with Prince George’s County Public Schools (PGCPS) as a substitute teacher in 2006. He earned his teaching certification through the school system’s Resident Teacher Program, and has been teaching language arts at Walker Mill since 2007.

“All 39 nominees for Prince George’s County Teacher of the Year have inspired their school communities with their outstanding skills, dedicated service and support of students, parents and colleagues,” said Dr. Alvin L. Crawley, Interim Superintendent of Schools. “These educators set the bar for excellence, and play a key role in ensuring the future success of our students.”

“Mr. Lewis brings a wealth of intellect, experience, and expertise to the job,” said Nicole Clifton, Ed.D., principal of Walker Mill. “His dedication and passion for the craft and his community is evident in his instruction and other areas, as well.”

Three other finalists were also named for the award during the May 2 celebration: Jennifer Boyles-Kellner, Forest Heights Elementary School; Erica Rogers Bair, Valley View Elementary School; and Patrice Porter Lawrence, Frederick Douglass High School.  

“I was honored to take part in recognizing all of our outstanding nominees for this year’s award,” said Board Chair Verjeana M. Jacobs, Esq. “They are all Teachers of the Year in the eyes of their students, and all have the traits that make up a great educator: mastery of their content area, a passion for teaching, and a deep caring for their students.”

Lewis takes on additional roles and responsibilities at his school, including serving as Team Leader, Administrative Support person and member of the Instructional Council. He coordinated the Breakfast Club tutoring program in 2011, was Assistant Basketball Coach from 2007-2010, has been the Debate Coach since 2008 and has served as a motivational speaker at school assemblies since 2007.

Outside of his school community, he has worked as a reading tutor, where he developed and implemented curriculum for a summer science and technology camp, provided extending learning opportunities for students, designed tutoring programs and conducted professional development for peers.

Lewis earned a bachelor’s degree in telecommunications with a concentration in journalism from Morgan State University in 2007. But after serving as a substitute teacher in Prince George’s County from 2006-2007, he shifted his focus to education and started working towards earning his teaching certification in English.

Lewis will join representatives from all 24 Maryland counties in competing for the title of2013-2014 Maryland Teacher of the Year, through a process coordinated by the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE). The winner will be announced during a gala event in the fall, and will go on to represent Maryland in the national competition.

Three high school students were also honored Thursday for their winning entries in the Teacher of the Year essay contest. Dion Garner, senior at Largo High School, shared his “Most Inspirational” essay during the event. Adriana Murray from Largo High School was the first place winner for Grade 12, and Martin Garris Jr. from DuVal High School won first place for Grade 11.

Besides the winner and finalists, the following educators were also nominated for Prince George’s County Teacher of the Year:

Joy Anderson, Surrattsville HS

Nina Cheri Jacks, Brandywine ES

Angela Andress, Imagine Foundations at Morningside

Charlene Jones-Newman, Surrattsville HS

Susan Bailey, High Bridge ES

Ruthdasia Lanier-Williams, Croom HS

Rosa Bell, Barnaby Manor ES

Irene B. De Leon, John Hanson Montessori

Dr. Otassa Jean Boston, Perrywood ES

Genes Marquez, Judith P. Hoyer Montessori

Angelica Brooks, Oxon Hill MS

William McIntyre, Accokeek Academy

Elizabeth C. Butler, Martin Luther King, Jr. MS

Stephen Charles Newbold Jr., Thurgood Marshall MS

Taiese Carson, Glenn Dale ES

Nakia Newman, Hillcrest Heights ES

Susan Crossed, Judith P. Hoyer Montessori

Glynnis Ogbogou, Adelphi ES

Yvette Coley, Imagine Foundations at Morningside

Eric Russo, Drew-Freeman MS

Kelly S. Crayton, M.Ed., Barack Obama ES

Karen Schafer, Adelphi ES

Ma. Cielo Deocares, Imagine Foundations at Morningside

Denise L. Smith, Thomas G. Pullen Arts Academy

Shawna Faro, Glenn Dale ES

Bobbie Shockley, Largo HS

Joelle Formato, Drew-Freeman MS

Venita Simon, C. Elizabeth Rieg Regional School

Melany Garcia, Patuxent ES

Sharon L. Weaver, Dr. Henry A. Wise, Jr. HS

Anne Hall McKuhen, Mary Harris “Mother” Jones ES

Melanie Wheeler, Francis T. Evans ES

Paul Hatton, Thomas G. Pullen Arts Academy

Gretchen T. Williams, Perrywood ES

Tobi M. Haufe, Deerfield Run ES


Prince George's County Public Schools (PGCPS), one of the nation's 25 largest school districts, has 208 schools and centers, more than 130,000 students and nearly 19,000 employees. Under the leadership of Chief Executive Officer Dr. Kevin M. Maxwell, the school system serves a diverse student population from urban, suburban and rural communities located in the Washington, DC suburbs. PGCPS is nationally recognized for innovative programs and initiatives that provide students with unique learning opportunities, including arts integration, environmental and financial literacy, and language immersion.