News Release: Board of Education Members Sworn In for New Term

News Release: Board of Education Members Sworn In for New Term

December 4, 2012
For Immediate Release
Office of Communications

 (Prince George's County Board of Education from left to right): Edward Burroughs III; Carolyn Boston; Donna Hathaway-Beck; Patricia Eubanks; Peggy Higgins, LCSW-C; Verjeana M. Jacobs, Esq.; Carletta Fellows; Amber Waller; Shabnam Ahmed; Zabrina Epps; and Interim Superintendent of Schools Dr. Alvin L. Crawley.

UPPER MARLBORO, MD—During a special ceremony on Monday, the Prince George’s County Board of Education welcomed two new members: Zabrina Epps and Carletta Fellows.  Other Board members sworn in by the Honorable Marilynn M. Bland, Clerk of the Circuit Court for Prince George's County, Maryland, included three incumbents: Edward Burroughs III, Patricia Eubanks and Verjeana M. Jacobs, Esq. 

Epps is an academic advisor at the Community College of Baltimore County. She has served as a budget analyst with the Maryland General Assembly and a fiscal officer with the Maryland Secretary of State.

Fellows is an Educational Program Consultant for Erhky’s Learning Center which administers educational evaluations and develops instructional paths for children in foster care. She is involved in the Maryland State Redistricting Process at the congressional and state-level.

The Board also voted to re-elect Jacobs to a sixth term as Board Chair and elected Carolyn Boston as Vice Chair.

Jacobs was elected to an at-large seat on the Board of Education in November 2006.  Prior to her election, she served as a hearing examiner for the school system where she presided over cases involving student appeals of suspensions and expulsions.    

“It is an honor to serve another term as Chair of the Board of Education,” said Jacobs. “I look forward to working with my colleagues in making this county a great place for education and advancing the achievement of our diverse student population.”

Boston previously served as Vice Mayor and Councilwoman for the Historical Town of Fairmount Heights, Maryland for two terms. She served nine years as president of the Parent Teacher Association (PTA) at Robert R. Gray Elementary School. 

“I look forward to continuing our work and collaborating with our community and stakeholders to ensure that students are getting the best education,” stated Boston. “My goal is to help make our schools more parent-friendly and create a culture of transparency throughout our school system.”   

The 2012-13 Prince George’s County Board of Education members include: 

  • District 1: Zabrina Epps;
  • District 2: Peggy Higgins, LCSW-C;
  • District 3: Amber Waller;
  • District 4: Patricia Eubanks;
  • District 5: Verjeana M. Jacbos, Esq. (Chair);
  • District 6: Carolyn Boston (Vice Chair);
  • District 7: Carletta Fellows;
  • District 8: Edward Burroughs III;
  • District 9: Donna Hathaway-Beck; and
  • Student Board Member: Shabnam Ahmed.

The Board holds annual elections on the first Monday in December to elect a Chair and Vice-Chair among its members. Board meetings are held throughout the school year, and are open to the public, except for meetings in executive session.

For more information on the Prince George's County Board of Education and to see a complete calendar of Board meetings, visit


Prince George's County Public Schools (PGCPS), one of the nation's 25 largest school districts, has 208 schools and centers, more than 130,000 students and nearly 19,000 employees. Under the leadership of Chief Executive Officer Dr. Kevin M. Maxwell, the school system serves a diverse student population from urban, suburban and rural communities located in the Washington, DC suburbs. PGCPS is nationally recognized for innovative programs and initiatives that provide students with unique learning opportunities, including arts integration, environmental and financial literacy, and language immersion.