• The Christa McAuliffe Award


    In honor of Christa McAuliffe, a former Prince George's County Public Schools teacher, the Board of Education established the Christa McAuliffe Award to recognize excellence in teaching. This award, available to Prince George's County Public Schools teachers only, honors an outstanding teacher based on competitive standards of excellence established by other teachers.

    The award is also a special tribute to Christa McAuliffe, America's Teacher-In-Space, who died in the 1986 explosion of the Space Shuttle Challenger. Mrs. McAuliffe taught in Prince George's County from 1971 to 1978.

    Candidates must be certified full-time teachers in grades kindergarten through twelve in PGCPS and have spent at least the past five years teaching full-time in Prince George's County Public Schools. 

    The 2017 Nominees are:

    • Rhonda Cipolla - High Bridge Elementary
    • Regina Dorsett - Glenn Dale Elementary
    • Jamie Goldsmith - Rosaryville Elementary
    • LeAnn Holden-Martin - Charles Herbert Flowers High
    • Alaiyo Kiasi-Barnes - Academy of Health Sciences @ PGCC
    • Mary Grace Pagharion - International High School @ Langley Park
    • Rachel Wheelin - Ridgecrest Elementary
    • Hubert Willoughby - Eleanor Roosevelt High

    Download the Application >>